The obligatory intro post!

Welcome to my little corner of cyberspace!

I guess the first order of the day is to introduce myself and explain why I have chosen to invade the blog world with my ramblings.

Cast of Characters:

Me (Erin aka geekraisinggeek): Graphic designer by trade, I’m a full-time working mom who is a self-proclaimed “geek of many genres.” As fitting my Gemini nature – I go both ways – Mac and PC. But in all honestly, I have for years thought of myself as “A Mac Girl in a PC World – which explains why my OS does not play well with others.”™

The random things that make my heart pitter patter – books (ah, the smell of antique books in the morning!), theatre, historical reenactment, dance, fine art, sci-fi, history, mystery, romance, musicals, gaming (you name it – board, console, PC, MMO, PnP), graphic novels, digital scrapbooking, time travel and all things Disney.

Boo (my 6 year old daughter): My geeklette-in-training. By day, she is a ornery first grader, who takes dance lessons, is a Girl Scout and is an ICarly fanatic. But the geek force is strong in this one – she loves dressing up for renaissance festivals, playing the Blood Bowl board game and recently rolled her first PnP character. Her loves are science and math and PE, so I’m not entirely sure she’s not a changeling.

Spookydad (my husband): Also a geek, but doesn’t like the label. He’s our resident PC/MMORPG/PnP game guru. Doesn’t venture far from his life source – his computer. But an understanding man who puts up with most anything I throw at him. Oh yes, and he also is on a novice hockey league and loves donuts.

So why are we here?

The purpose of this blog it twofold, one, to document the fun, adventures and tribulations of raising my own little geeklette. To that end, I hope to share all things fun and geeky we find along the way and maybe throw in a little commentary as well.

I would like this to become something more than a vanity blog and actually be an active contributor to the geek and parenting communities. But we’ll see how it all pans out.

I’m going to blog for a month or two before I start telling people IRL, so if you do happen to run into this blog please feel free to introduce yourself, share your story or let me know what I’m doing wrong LOL.

Thanks for visiting!
Erin

Leave a Reply

